Locate Link Browser

Post Reply
DragonHawk
Posts:120
Joined:Mon Jul 28, 2008 9:54 am
Location:NH, US, Earth
Locate Link Browser

Post by DragonHawk » Mon May 09, 2011 4:19 pm

Hi all,

This is mostly FYI, but if anyone has any additional clue to add, I'm all ears.

Firefox 3.6.x (FrontMotion MSI packaging)
Windows XP SP3
Internet Explorer 6.0
Outlook 2003

We have had Firefox deployed to select computers, via the FrontMotion MSI, for some time now. We recently upgraded from 3.6.13 to 3.6.17. Post-deployment, we got trouble reports from a few users. In Outlook, when they clicked a hyperlink in any HTML message, they were prompted with a common dialog entitled "Locate Link Browser", looking for files of type "Executable Files". All affected users (so far) have had Firefox deployed to their computers but were not using it as their default browser.

MSKB 821692 gave us the clue we needed, even though it wasn't quite an exact match. The file association for several URL protocol handlers were horked. The shell action "open" all had their "Application used to perform this action" fields set to:

Code: Select all

"" -nohome
On computers without Firefox (and not having a problem), the value is:

Code: Select all

"C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\iexplore.exe" -nohome
Changing the value to the later fixed the broken computers.

This affected the following URL handlers (they show with a file extension of "(NONE)" in the Windows Explorer "Folder Options" GUI):
  • URL:HyperText Transfer Protocol
  • URL:HyperText Transfer Protocol with Privacy
  • URL:File Transfer Protocol
  • URL:Gopher Protocol
In terms of the registry, the keys are:

Code: Select all

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\HTTP\shell\open\command
(It uses the default value for that key. The "HTTP" varies for the protocol as one would expect.)

I note that we deploy Firefox to not automatically become the default browser. We do have some users (myself included) who elect to make it the default browser, though. On those computers (the ones using Firefox as the default browser) there were no apparent problems. On mine, at least, the URL handler is:

Code: Select all

"C:\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\firefox.exe" -requestPending -osint -url "%1"
I can only ass-ume that as part of the upgrade, something got reset improperly. This may be related to how we are deploying Firefox. We change the "INSTALLLEVEL" MSI property from 5 to 3, which means Firefox does not automatically become the default browser. I know that behavior was changed recently; perhaps that property change is invalid now.

Hope this helps,

User avatar
DraconPern
Site Admin
Posts:1218
Joined:Thu Oct 30, 2003 11:47 pm
Location:Texas
Contact:

Re: Locate Link Browser

Post by DraconPern » Mon May 09, 2011 11:55 pm

Uh oh, let me take a look at this. The uninstall tries to find iexplore.exe and set that as the default again. it looks like it wasn't able to find it, and thus put in an empty link.
FrontMotion Lead Developer

DragonHawk
Posts:120
Joined:Mon Jul 28, 2008 9:54 am
Location:NH, US, Earth

Re: Locate Link Browser

Post by DragonHawk » Tue May 10, 2011 6:26 am

If there's anything I can do to help (logs, testing, etc.), let me know.

User avatar
DraconPern
Site Admin
Posts:1218
Joined:Thu Oct 30, 2003 11:47 pm
Location:Texas
Contact:

Re: Locate Link Browser

Post by DraconPern » Tue May 10, 2011 6:29 am

Please test with this package. http://hicap.frontmotion.com/beta/Firef ... -en-US.msi It includes the uninstall fix, and also a 'fix' step during installation, to correct the previous uninstall.
FrontMotion Lead Developer

DragonHawk
Posts:120
Joined:Mon Jul 28, 2008 9:54 am
Location:NH, US, Earth

Re: Locate Link Browser

Post by DragonHawk » Tue May 10, 2011 9:08 am

Wow, that was quick. Thanks! I'll test as soon as I can, but might be a day or two before I can get to it. Lots of stuff going on right now.

jpa
Posts:122
Joined:Fri May 01, 2009 5:06 pm

Re: Locate Link Browser

Post by jpa » Tue May 10, 2011 12:27 pm

Haven't investigated but see below. Also does this change fix this problem?
FF_3.6.17.1_Error.JPG
FF_3.6.17.1_Error.JPG (35.77KiB)Viewed 12942 times

User avatar
DraconPern
Site Admin
Posts:1218
Joined:Thu Oct 30, 2003 11:47 pm
Location:Texas
Contact:

Re: Locate Link Browser

Post by DraconPern » Tue May 10, 2011 4:09 pm

Yes, it does fix that problem. Including the double null issue. I tested it against ie8 on winxp and it reports it is the default browser. I have uploaded a new build that doesn't generate that dll error.
FrontMotion Lead Developer

jpa
Posts:122
Joined:Fri May 01, 2009 5:06 pm

Re: Locate Link Browser

Post by jpa » Tue May 10, 2011 6:15 pm

Great. Thank you.

So I tested and found the following in a clean Win XP IE 7 VM:

Installing over an old version doesn't work as I expect from your description.
C:\Temp>msiexec /i Firefox-3.6.17-en-US.msi /q
IE is default no complaints
C:\Temp>msiexec /i Firefox-3.6.17.1-en-US.msi /q
IE is default but doesn't think it is
C:\Temp>msiexec /x Firefox-3.6.17.1-en-US.msi /q
IE is default no complaints


Same for the following sequence
C:\Temp>msiexec /i Firefox-3.6.17-en-US.msi /q
IE is default no complaints
C:\Temp>msiexec /x Firefox-3.6.17-en-US.msi /q
IE is default but doesn't think it is
C:\Temp>msiexec /i Firefox-3.6.17.1-en-US.msi /q
IE is default but doesn't think it is
C:\Temp>msiexec /x Firefox-3.6.17.1-en-US.msi /q
IE is default no complaints

Should it fix the IE association when Firefox 3.6.17.1 is installed or only when it is uninstalled?

User avatar
DraconPern
Site Admin
Posts:1218
Joined:Thu Oct 30, 2003 11:47 pm
Location:Texas
Contact:

Re: Locate Link Browser

Post by DraconPern » Wed May 11, 2011 3:18 am

Just reuploaded http://hicap.frontmotion.com/beta/Firef ... -en-US.msi to apply the fix during install.

msiexec /i Firefox-3.6.17.1-en-US.msi /q
should now result in IE is default with no complaints
FrontMotion Lead Developer

User avatar
DraconPern
Site Admin
Posts:1218
Joined:Thu Oct 30, 2003 11:47 pm
Location:Texas
Contact:

Re: Locate Link Browser

Post by DraconPern » Wed May 11, 2011 5:20 am

FrontMotion Lead Developer

jpa
Posts:122
Joined:Fri May 01, 2009 5:06 pm

Re: Locate Link Browser

Post by jpa » Wed May 11, 2011 11:06 am

DraconPern wrote:should now result in IE is default with no complaints
And my basic testing of 3.6.17.1 and 4.0.1.1 both show it does. Thank you. This streamlines my current Firefox deploy routine.

User avatar
DraconPern
Site Admin
Posts:1218
Joined:Thu Oct 30, 2003 11:47 pm
Location:Texas
Contact:

Re: Locate Link Browser

Post by DraconPern » Wed May 11, 2011 3:45 pm

Alrighty, this will also fix other languages since it detects IE's install path too. Making packages for the rest of the languagues!
FrontMotion Lead Developer

andi95
Posts:3
Joined:Fri Jul 02, 2010 8:46 am

Re: Locate Link Browser

Post by andi95 » Fri May 13, 2011 9:24 am

Thank you very much,

now it works!

Kind Regards

Andi

Post Reply