Firefox 8.0.1

anthonymel
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 8:56 pm

Firefox 8.0.1

Post by anthonymel » Tue Nov 22, 2011 10:55 am

In a long tradition of quick fixes after a major release do to a stupid versioning scheme, Firefox 8.0.1 came out today.

User avatar
DraconPern
Site Admin
Posts: 1218
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2003 11:47 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: Firefox 8.0.1

Post by DraconPern » Tue Nov 22, 2011 10:07 pm

Thanks for the heads up! I get the sense that the x.0.1 releases are like the 'real' releases.. lol
FrontMotion Lead Developer

Atze78
Posts: 8
Joined: Fri Sep 02, 2011 7:30 am

Re: Firefox 8.0.1

Post by Atze78 » Wed Nov 23, 2011 6:09 am

@DraconPern

Is it possible to make more transparenz to our release strategie ? I think the most users are admins in enviroment´s above 100 clients, so we must plan some rollouts.

Best Practise : Version 8.0.1 is out. So i don´t want to deploy 8.0. But i must tell my users when the new version will be aviable. Today i can´t tell them any date or range when i will deploy because i must wait wenn frontmotion version is ready to build. That reason is not so good all the time and i hope we can do it a little bit kommunikative ?

br

User avatar
DraconPern
Site Admin
Posts: 1218
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2003 11:47 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: Firefox 8.0.1

Post by DraconPern » Mon Nov 28, 2011 1:09 am

I try to give a release date as soon as I can, at the moment, it's the start of the holiday season in the US so things have been a bit slower. 8.0.1 Should be ready by tuesday.
FrontMotion Lead Developer

User avatar
DraconPern
Site Admin
Posts: 1218
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2003 11:47 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: Firefox 8.0.1

Post by DraconPern » Tue Nov 29, 2011 1:43 am

8.0.1 released!
FrontMotion Lead Developer

MadFurai
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 10:05 am

Re: Firefox 8.0.1

Post by MadFurai » Wed Nov 30, 2011 10:20 am

Just wanted to say awesome job on this package. Working so far with no problems. I even pushed it with SCCM while a user had FMFirefoxCE 7.0.1 open and in use. It installed in the background and the user was none the wiser. After they closed the browser and re-opened it, it was 8.0.1 (magically). :D

anthonymel
Posts: 105
Joined: Tue Jul 12, 2005 8:56 pm

Re: Firefox 8.0.1

Post by anthonymel » Wed Nov 30, 2011 11:04 am

Yeah I noticed this too with recent releases. You don't have to have the program closed to update. When the user opens the Firefox again they're on the 8.0.1

Nice work!

jpa
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 5:06 pm

Re: Firefox 8.0.1

Post by jpa » Thu Dec 01, 2011 1:55 pm

"app.update.enabled" preference is True in the 8.0.1 release so users will auto update to the next release when it's available. Until DraconPern fixes this you should do an admin install and change this in pref\firefox.js before deploying.
Last edited by jpa on Fri Dec 02, 2011 12:20 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
DraconPern
Site Admin
Posts: 1218
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2003 11:47 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: Firefox 8.0.1

Post by DraconPern » Thu Dec 01, 2011 3:20 pm

o.O let me check..

---

Both FirefoxMSI and FMFirefoxCE have both as disabled.
FrontMotion Lead Developer

KoolFrank87
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 4:38 pm

Re: Firefox 8.0.1

Post by KoolFrank87 » Thu Dec 01, 2011 4:44 pm

I am having an issue with the extensions.checkCompatibility poping up after the update from 7.0.1 to 8.0.1. It only runs the one time and then is gone for good but I need some guidance in supressing this completly.

I am modifying the pref\firefox.js with pref("extensions.checkCompatibility", false) I have also tried pref("extensions.checkCompatibility.8.0.1", false) and many other version of that with no luck.

Anyone have any pointers for me?

Thanks!

-Frank

jpa
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 5:06 pm

Re: Firefox 8.0.1

Post by jpa » Thu Dec 01, 2011 5:53 pm

Do you mean the new Add-on Controls check?

From an earlier DraconPern post and another source:

extensions.shownSelectionUI=true (disables addon disable on update check)
extensions.autoDisableScopes=11 (excludes appdir addons from autodisable checking on install)

jpa
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 5:06 pm

Re: Firefox 8.0.1

Post by jpa » Thu Dec 01, 2011 6:07 pm

DraconPern wrote:o.O let me check..

---

Both FirefoxMSI and FMFirefoxCE have both as disabled.
Are you sure about this? Maybe I'm an idiot but I've just downloaded and done an admin install of the Firefox and FMFirefoxCE MSIs in English and whatever language "BG" is and they all have the pref\firefox.js "app.update.enabled" set to True.

User avatar
DraconPern
Site Admin
Posts: 1218
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2003 11:47 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: Firefox 8.0.1

Post by DraconPern » Thu Dec 01, 2011 7:54 pm

Ah, but those setting are overriden either through code in fmfirefoxce or through Mozilla.cfg for firefoxmsi. Additionally they are locked so users will not be able to enable them.
FrontMotion Lead Developer

jpa
Posts: 122
Joined: Fri May 01, 2009 5:06 pm

Re: Firefox 8.0.1

Post by jpa » Fri Dec 02, 2011 12:02 pm

Great, thank you for the info. Put a check in the idiot column for me.

KoolFrank87
Posts: 4
Joined: Thu Dec 01, 2011 4:38 pm

Re: Firefox 8.0.1

Post by KoolFrank87 » Fri Dec 02, 2011 12:13 pm

jpa wrote:Do you mean the new Add-on Controls check?

From an earlier DraconPern post and another source:

extensions.shownSelectionUI=true (disables addon disable on update check)
extensions.autoDisableScopes=11 (excludes appdir addons from autodisable checking on install)

The only results i get out of adding extensions.shownSelectionUI=true and changing autoDisableScopes=11 is the window changes theme/style.

firefox.png
With extensions.shownSelectionUI=true
firefox.png (14.78 KiB) Viewed 8467 times
Firefox1.jpg
without extensions.shownSelectionUI=true
Firefox1.jpg (21.19 KiB) Viewed 8467 times
Any thoughts?

Post Reply