10.0.4 and search providers

Post Reply
lcampos
Posts: 2
Joined: Wed May 16, 2012 8:05 am

10.0.4 and search providers

Post by lcampos » Wed May 16, 2012 12:07 pm

First things first, thanks for your effort to bring Firefox to the enterprise.

While deploying the latest release to our test environment (we've skipped a few versions), I've detected that the default search engine is forced to "Google Search provided via FMFirefoxCE" as detailed in an older thread in the forum. (http://forums.frontmotion.com/viewtopic ... gine#p4494)

I understand your project funding needs, but I have two problems with this feature:
  • The look n' feel of the web search is VERY different compared to Google's default
  • The sponsored search replaces our default "Google" search engine (doesn't add a new "Google Frontmotion" item o something like that).
This change it's permanent? Or it's still a test?

Thanks in advance.

visir
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue May 22, 2012 1:42 am

Re: 10.0.4 and search providers

Post by visir » Tue May 22, 2012 1:56 am

I found the Google custom search results unusable too. I have to install next search provider (eg. Google SSL https://addons.mozilla.org/cs/firefox/a ... sl-search/ ), but i do not know how distribute it to our clients automatically...

marble01
Posts: 9
Joined: Thu Jul 01, 2010 9:53 am

Re: 10.0.4 and search providers

Post by marble01 » Thu Jun 07, 2012 11:48 am

I share lcampos' concerns. I have had several support calls now from users thinking they have some sort of malware because their Google search results look different. Is there a way that the FrontMotion Search Provider be supplied as a separate provider in the list?

MadFurai
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 10:05 am

Re: 10.0.4 and search providers

Post by MadFurai » Thu Jun 07, 2012 1:06 pm

Yes, I have to agree. I thought I had been bitten by the malware bug when I did my first search and received "Google Custom Search" results...

caustic386
Posts: 11
Joined: Tue Aug 03, 2010 4:38 pm

Re: 10.0.4 and search providers

Post by caustic386 » Thu Aug 02, 2012 9:42 am

Sorry to revive an older thread, but this problem is occurring with over 120 users in our environment since the upgrade from 10.0.3 to 10.0.6. It is frustrating because the ESR version is, as I understand it, specifically in place to avoid major changes like this. I guess it's debatable if this constitutes a "major" change, but more precisely, I was under the impression that ESR was for security patches and bugfixes ONLY. Am I wrong on that?

Anyway, to the point, does anyone have a tip for rectifying this situation now that this version has been deployed? We don't use MSIs, we deploy by hand via OS streaming.

patti70
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 4:30 am

Re: 10.0.4 and search providers

Post by patti70 » Fri Aug 24, 2012 4:38 am

Hello, I ran into this problem when upgrading our 700 computers to 14.x. I found out, that you can replace google.xml in FM Firefox's searchplugins installation folder by a previous version which does not have Custom Search. Then either remove the user profile OR start FM Firefox in safe mode and restore search engine via Safe Mode and you get back default google search.

My question is, how to do this automatically? I have 700 computers to administer and going through all computers with either of the above mentioned methods is out of the question. Can I somehow force Firefox to re-read the google.xml for correct search engine information?

TiA

patti

patti70
Posts: 2
Joined: Fri Aug 24, 2012 4:30 am

Re: 10.0.4 and search providers

Post by patti70 » Fri Aug 24, 2012 6:00 am

Hi, found my answer elsewhere on this forum. Create admin install point for FMFirefoxCE, replace/repair the google.xml search engine in admin install point's \Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\searchplugins folder and redeploy. Works like a charm and 700 computers are being redeployed as I type this :)

patti

Post Reply