Google custom search feature in 13.0.1

Post Reply
andymalo
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 28, 2009 2:00 pm

Google custom search feature in 13.0.1

Post by andymalo » Wed Jul 11, 2012 12:31 pm

This is the first version where I've noticed this google custom search is installed. I've read about using an admin install point to get around it, and I took the extra effort to get it to work. But isn't there a simpler method?

BlackBowmore
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed Jun 27, 2012 3:12 am

Re: Google custom search feature in 13.0.1

Post by BlackBowmore » Thu Jul 12, 2012 2:11 pm

Same here. Our users are complaining about this annoying custom search. Please return to the standard search in the next release!

Cifer
Posts: 8
Joined: Wed Dec 28, 2011 10:01 am

Re: Google custom search feature in 13.0.1

Post by Cifer » Tue Jul 17, 2012 2:03 am

You can use this solution.
http://forums.frontmotion.com/viewtopic ... 4752#p4752

Works great :)

MadFurai
Posts: 18
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2011 10:05 am

Re: Google custom search feature in 13.0.1

Post by MadFurai » Mon Aug 27, 2012 10:13 am

Not a good solution for an Enterprise with 26,000 computers at 65 different physical sites.

User avatar
DraconPern
Site Admin
Posts: 1218
Joined: Thu Oct 30, 2003 11:47 pm
Location: Texas
Contact:

Re: Google custom search feature in 13.0.1

Post by DraconPern » Thu Aug 30, 2012 1:38 pm

The online packager now builds packages without the google custom search.
FrontMotion Lead Developer

leiafee
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Oct 03, 2012 5:02 am

Re: Google custom search feature in 13.0.1

Post by leiafee » Wed Oct 03, 2012 5:07 am

Ugly ugly ugly. Even the Google logo is pixelated and amateurish.

Everyone who's used it thinks their computer is 'broken' if they're a beginner or caught a browser hijacker if they're not!

Bit of a dealbreaker for us if we can't get the fix to roll out to all users fairly easily.

MonkeyBoy
Posts: 73
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2011 2:37 pm

Re: Google custom search feature in 13.0.1

Post by MonkeyBoy » Thu Oct 11, 2012 7:22 pm

(scratches head) Not to be a dick, but didn't you find it in testing before pushing it out to desktops? I think this would be a good impetus to re-examine your rollout procedures so you can catch flaws before they hit all user desktops. Otherwise you will be burned by something more serious than a Google search page in the future. Dev->Test->Prod, never, ever, ever, ever, ever go straight to Prod. It always ends in misery.

You can always create an administrative install point with the search function removed, and set that (through advanced) as an upgrade of your existing Firefox installation. Or, if you don't like administrative install points, purchase the integration service and get your own customized MSI through it, then do the same kind of upgrade installation.

Some folks have listed scripts elsewhere in this forum that will walk into each user's folder and change the relevant files.

Post Reply