[solved] How to activate addon automatically

kranzfr3d
[solved] How to activate addon automatically

Post by kranzfr3d » Fri Oct 31, 2014 4:36 am

Hello,

I'm new to FM - so "hello to everyone" :D

I created a new package with FMFirefoxCE-32.0, added some certificates.
After install onto lab-environment, either the addon "certificates for custom" is disabled by default or the labuser (with an empty profile) is asked to activate it.
Probaly the certificates are "installed by" that addon?

How can I force to enable that addon "certificates for custom" without user-interaction (=automatically)?
Are there GPOs or CFG-Additions?

Thank you very much for your help :-)
Last edited by kranzfr3d on Wed Nov 05, 2014 1:54 am, edited 1 time in total.

marble01

Re: Certificate added - how to activate addon automatically?

Post by marble01 » Fri Oct 31, 2014 8:29 am

Here is how I accomplished adding certificates to Firefox:

These steps will deploy the certificate for new Firefox users only. If a user already has a Firefox profile they will not get the cert8.db
-Added Certificates to the default cert8.db
-Created an admin install point of the Firefox MSI
-Copied the cert8.db to <Admin Install Point>\Program Files\Mozilla Firefox\browser\defaults\profile
-Add the cert8.db file to the MSI

To deploy the certificate to existing Firefox profiles I used Firefox's certutil (https://developer.mozilla.org/en-US/doc ... s_certutil).
-Compiled certutil
-Created a MSI installation for certutil
-Added a user logon script that checks for a Firefox profile for the user and if it exists then run certutil to import the certificate into their existing cert8.db

kranzfr3d

Post by kranzfr3d » Mon Nov 03, 2014 2:40 am

Hello marble01,

thanks for the great idea - this was my idea too, if we had not paid for the frontmotion firefox packager.

We think FrontMotion needs to show us a way, how the addon "certificates for custom" is enabled by default, even if a firefox-profile exists or not.