Corporate IT says FrontMotion not supported

ElizabethGray
Corporate IT says FrontMotion not supported

Post by ElizabethGray » Fri Apr 24, 2015 11:28 am

Hi all,
I am an IT manager for a large municipal department with 1200 employees, many enjoying the use of FrontMotion FireFox. Our corporate IT has told us recently they are uninstalling FrontMotion (in favor of Chrome Enterprise; along with the standard IE). The reason: "because FireFox is open source and so it isn't' really supported like the other browsers."
I think that's hogwash--as demonstrated by this forum--but I need a bit more fact to push back with. For example a release schedule for patches, and any other info you can provide me to demonstrate that FrontMotion is just as "supported" as any other browser.

Thank you for any help you can provide.

acoustix

Re: Corporate IT says FrontMotion not supported

Post by acoustix » Mon Apr 27, 2015 4:28 pm

It's definitely a BS reason. Firefox has a huge installed base and has more extensions/plugins than IE. The Extended Service Release of Firefox is very well supported. I would actually more concerned with what information Google is collecting with their browser in a corporate environment.

I'm an IT Director at a medium sized transportation company and we've been happily using Fronmotion Firefox for years, especially since it ties in so well with group policies.

I guess it's nice that they are at least giving users a browser option. But why not support all 3 browsers: IE, Firefox and Chrome?

ElizabethGray

Post by ElizabethGray » Mon Apr 27, 2015 6:14 pm

Thank you, acoustix...I will pass your info on. If anyone else has additional support, please chime in. I am fighting an uphill battle on this.

MHX

Post by MHX » Tue Apr 28, 2015 6:34 am