Question about "authorized" Firefox version...

zygar
Question about "authorized" Firefox version...

Post by zygar » Tue Jan 03, 2006 5:47 pm

Howdy all. I'm an administrator for a private boarding school and would like to roll out Firefox via GPO (Server 2003) to school-owned PCs. I've successfully installed the MSI file in a dedicated GPO as well as the ADM files. Just waiting for the deployment to commence.

We have quite a few students whom use flash drives to run FF and not via the hard drive.

Would anyone recommend a solution I can deploy to allow only the FM version of FF to run and no other versions? Perhaps Software Restrictions?

Reason is that the workstations have to be configured to go through a proxy server (IE's already set up this way) and if the students run their own version, they can bypass the proxy (long story on why we're not transparent proxying in the first place).

Thx much, in advance!

Regards,
Z.

Zippyfrog

Post by Zippyfrog » Tue Jan 03, 2006 11:39 pm

My suggestion would be to block all outbound traffic except for your proxy server port. That way, when the students decide to choose direct connection to the internet from their flash drive version of firefox, it will time out. The only way their flash drive version of Firefox would work would be if they put in the proxy address.

anthonymel

Post by anthonymel » Wed Jan 04, 2006 12:57 am

What type of proxy server are you using? Why not just make it the default gateway for the network. That way no mater where on the net user goes they have to pass through the proxy.

zygar

Post by zygar » Wed Jan 04, 2006 7:55 am

Thx much for your replies, Zippy and Anthony. I greatly appreciate it.